Sweet Peas in Spring

Finally my sweet peas are ready!  After maintaining a steady grip during the cold, during the heat, and everything in between, my sweet babies have matured. 

Crisp on the out side, sweet delicacy on the inside, these are worth the wait.

And easy to store.  I’m freezing mine fresh — because I haven’t decided how I want to use them in the future.  But when I do, I know they’ll be delicious.  Already tried some.

Garden peas are especially precious in our garden as they are a limited commodity.  They prefer cool weather and now that it’s warming up here in Florida, I know these sweets will be on the way out.  It’s been so warm, my young broccoli are already bolting in rebellion.

Oh, well.  Just another day in the life of a gardener.  We take what we can get where we can get it!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 11:59:08

    Wow! Sweet Peas in March. Am very jealous. I’ve got another two/three months to wait before my sweet peas are in flower. Guess that’s the advantage of being in Florida rather than Britain. Lovely photos too!

    Reply

Leave a comment